[Viente mil leguas de viaje submarino (Twenty... - Lot 3 - Boisgirard - Antonini

Lot 3
Got to lot
Estimation :
3000 - 4000 EUR
Result with fees
Result : 3 509EUR
[Viente mil leguas de viaje submarino (Twenty... - Lot 3 - Boisgirard - Antonini
[Viente mil leguas de viaje submarino (Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea)/por Julio Verne/Unica traduccion española por D. Vicente Guimerá. Illustrations of the original French version by de Neuville and Riou. Madrid, 1869. (Imprenta de) Establecimiento Tipográfico de Tomás Rey y Compañia, Editores. (Fomento 6).
Small in-8°. Bound in midnight blue half-basin. White edges. Purple endpapers. Illustrated cover preserved. First part paginated from 1 to 247 and second part from 1 to 290.
First illustrated edition in the world and first illustrated edition in Castilian.
This edition is both an enigma and the very first illustrated edition - worldwide - of Jules Verne's most famous novel, appearing at least six months before the end of its pre-publication in Le Magasin d'Éducation et de Récréation (No. 121, 20 March 1869, to No. 151, 20 June 1870) and almost two years before the first French edition published by Hetzel (16 November 1871).
Discovered by Javier Román, a bibliophile and collector of the first Castilian editions of Jules Verne's works, this edition is also the most complete in terms of illustrations. In fact, the two engravings published in the Castilian edition on pp. 200 and 247 (and later on pp. 9 and 104 of volume XIII of the Magasin d'Éducation et de Récréation in the first half of 1870) were removed from the French edition. How was it possible for the Spanish printer-publisher Tomás Rey to publish the complete text and illustrations of Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea as a preview when its publication in France was not yet complete? Spanish researchers have suggested that Jules Verne sent the complete text of the novel to the translator, Vicente Guimerá, as early as 1869, in order to translate it into Spanish for Verne's official publisher in Spain: Gaspar and Roig. Guimerá, who worked for the Spanish Ministry of Finance, also knew the printer-publisher Tomás Rey e Ca, who was also a subcontractor of the same ministry... We can therefore assume that all the illustrations were also sent to the translator. The latter would then have communicated the translation and the engravings to Tomás Rey - of course in complete disregard of Hetzel's rules: no translation may appear before the French edition - thus allowing the publication of this volume, which is therefore a pirate edition.
This volume is obviously precious and extremely rare (the copies - one or two at most - sold at public auction in Spain to date (of which only one with its cover) have been the object of "cosmic" auctions), and Vernian bibliophiles and collectors will not be mistaken...
My orders
Sale information
Sales conditions
Return to catalogue

[Les Tours du Monde] Viente mil leguas de... - Lot 3 - Boisgirard - Antonini

Lot 3
Aller au lot
Estimation :
3000 - 4000 EUR
[Les Tours du Monde] Viente mil leguas de... - Lot 3 - Boisgirard - Antonini
[Les Tours du Monde] Viente mil leguas de viaje submarino (Vingt mille lieues sous les mers)/por Julio Verne/Unica traduccion española por D. Vicente Guimerá. Illustrations de la version originale française par de Neuville et Riou. Madrid, 1869. (Imprenta de) Establecimiento Tipográfico de Tomás Rey y Compañia, Editores. (Fomento 6).
Petit in-8°. Reliure en demi-basane bleu nuit. Tranches blanches. Gardes violine. Couverture illustrée conservée. Première partie paginée de 1 à 247 et seconde partie de 1 à 290.
Première édition illustrée mondiale et édition originale illustrée en castillan.
Cette édition est à la fois une énigme et la toute première édition illustrée - à l'échelle mondiale - du plus célèbre roman de Jules Verne, parue au moins six mois avant la fin de sa prépublication dans Le Magasin d'Éducation et de Récréation (n°121, du 20 mars 1869, au n°151, du 20 juin 1870) et près de deux ans avant la sortie de la première édition française publiée par Hetzel (16 novembre 1871).
Découverte par Javier Román, bibliophile et collectionneur des premières éditions en castillan des œuvres de Jules Verne, cette édition est aussi la plus com- plète en termes d'illustrations. En effet, par rapport à la prépublication dans Le Magasin d'Éducation et de Récréation, les deux gravures publiées dans l'édition castillane pp. 200 et 247 (puis pp. 9 et 104 du tome XIII du Magasin d'Éducation et de Récréation du 1er semestre 1870) furent supprimées dans l'édition française. Comment fut-il possible que l'imprimeur-éditeur espagnol Tomás Rey publie en avant-première la version intégrale du texte et des illustrations de Vingt mille lieues sous les mers alors que sa publication en France n'était pas encore achevée ? Des chercheurs espagnols ont émis l'idée que Jules Verne a envoyé dès 1869 au traducteur, Vicente Guimerá, le texte complet du roman afin de le traduire en espagnol pour l'éditeur officiel de Verne en Espagne : Gaspar et Roig. Collabora- teur du ministère espagnol des Finances, Guimerá connaissait aussi l'imprimeur-éditeur Tomás Rey e Ca, par ailleurs sous-traitant de ce même ministère... Nous pouvons donc supposer que l'ensemble des illustrations aient, aussi, été envoyées au traducteur. Ce dernier aurait alors communiqué à Tomás Rey la traduction et les gravures - bien sûr en parfaite indélicatesse avec les règles d'Hetzel : toute traduction ne pouvant paraître avant l'édition française - permettant ainsi la publication de ce volume, qui, de ce fait, est une édition pirate.
Ce volume est évidemment précieux et rarissime (les exemplaires - un ou deux, tout au plus - cédés à ce jour en vente publique en Espagne (dont seulement un avec sa couverture) ont fait l'objet d'adjudications «cosmiques»), bibliophiles verniens et collectionneurs ne s'y tromperont pas...
Mes ordres d'achat
Informations sur la vente
Conditions de vente
Retourner au catalogue